I wonder what it would be like to live in a culture that celebrates food and cooking the way that we celebrate sports.  We prize people for being able to put a ball in a hoop or hit a ball over fence.  At all levels of athleticism people are idolized for the ability to play.  I’m not trivializing these people abilities and talants, but making an observation of our culture.

I wonder what it would be like to open the paper and read stories about Joe Schmoe, who was able to make an entire meal out of ingredients already in his kitchen.  Or perhaps Jane Doe finally broke the record for the baking the best cranberry and rosemary scone.

I’m sure some of you dont see any value in celebrating food and cooking in the way that I do, but then again I don’t find much value in celebrating sports achievements.

This morning I woke up to dark skies, cold weather and rain.  I decided to make some banana bread.  I had everything I needed to bake the bread already in my kitchen, so putting it together was easy.

3-4 ripe bananas (mashed with a wooden spoon) mixed with 1/3 cup of melted butter.
Add in 1tsp. vanilla, 3/4-1 cup sugar and 1 egg (beaten).  Mix all the ingredients together.
Sprinkle a pinch of salt and 1tsp baking soda over the mixture, then stir it in.
Last, fold in 1 1/2 cup flour.
Pour the mixture into a buttered 4″x8″ bread pan and pop it into a oven preheated at 350*.  Wait patiently for an hour and pull the bread out to cool.  Let it sit for 5 minutes.

There is no comparison to the taste of fresh banana bread.  Touchdown!

