Lauren’s parents came over today.  I really like them.  They hadn’t been up to the house since we had our New House BBQ, so there was much to see.  Wall had been painted.  Pictures hung.  Plants grown.  They both believe in us.  They are incredibly supportive.  When we made plans for them to come over for a visit I started to think about what we should have for dinner.  During the process I noticed two things.

1. It’s not that hard to have a mostly local meal.  I’ll write out the menu at the bottom, so I wont spoil anything now, but I will say this.  There was an incredible sense of satisfaction from eating a meal that was raised/grown/made locally.  I’m not a huge fan of the type of fundamentalism that has arisen from the local movement.  My approach to the meal was not to create a “local” meal, yet as I pieced things together I started to see that it was possible to have a meal that was mostly local.

2. I think I have the spiritual gift of cooking.  I don’t mean to say that I have a supernatural ability to cook.  I do mean that to prepare a meal for other people creates a spiritual connection for me.  Cooking is something that I have to offer people in the form of an act of service.  As I stood in the kitchen, preparing the meal, I found myself praying for Lauren and her parents.  It wasn’t that there was any particular thing that I thought they needed prayer for.  It just seemed like the right thing to do.  And it wasn’t so much of me praying for a specific thing to “happen.”  I prayed prayers of thankfulness for who they are in my life; recognizing that I am who I am because of their roles in my life.

On to the menu:

Appetizers:
Rosemary Flat-bread w/ Blue Cheese
Grilled Cream Cheese and Herb stuffed Heirloom Green Peppers
Grilled Maple infused Orange Beets

Main Course:
Spring Lettuce Salad w/ Lemon Cucumbers, Radishes, Tomatoes and Carrots
Steamed Green Beans and Yellow Squash
Grilled Tomatoes with Rosemary and Basil
Maple and Mustard seared Lamb Chops

Dessert: (courtesy of my mother-in-law)
Chess Square
Razzleberry Pie

