Yesterday I stopped by Black & Read to browse for some new, used books.  I haven’t been to Black & Read in a while, mostly because I rarely have any luck in finding anything of interest.  The other problem is that most of the time that I do find a good book there it’s marked at $6 or $8 bucks.  I realize that this is half off of retail price, but when I go looking for used books, I’m really hoping to find cheap used books.  I think I was spoiled when I lived in New Hampshire.  It seems like there are more used book stores out east then there are cheese selling stores in Wisconsin.  When I lived in New Hampshire I was able to buy 3 or 4 books for $10.  Alas, yesterday felt like I was shopping in New Hampshire again.

I bought two books.  The Sabbath by Abraham Joshua Heschel for $3.00 and Freedom of Simplicity by Richard Foster for $2.00.  Two incredible books for $5.00!  What a great day.  I’m more familiar with Foster than I am with Heschel, but what I know of both men make me excited to read these books.

Of all the books that were at Black & Read, these two stood out to me.  I wonder if this is one of the times when God is trying to tell me something?  Hmm.  A book about living a life of simplicity and a book about rest.  Very interesting.

Has anyone read either of these books?  Familiar with either of these authors?

