This morning ushers in the unofficial start of the fall season, and I couldn’t be more excited about it. A week or so ago, I was talking with Gabe about our views of a years time. I told him that I don’t really think about a year within a calender time frame, rather I view a year based on the seasonal changes. For me, the transition away from summer and into fall is my new year. This makes sense for people who are in school and live according to a school’s calender, but I haven’t been in school for four years. I did come up with two significant reasons why I feel this way.

1. In August 2004 I moved to Arvada, Colorado to work at a church for a year. I never expected to stay in Colorado after my year commitment, well in all reality I didn’t know what to expect. Three years later I’m still here. And married.
I believe that a large part of my view of a year comes from this transition from “life before Colorado,” to “life in Colorado.”

2. I feel more alive during fall than I do during any other time of the year. It’s hard to explain; and I realize that it’s strange that the season where the earth is in decay is the season that gives me life. I love the cooler weather. I love the ability to wear shorts and a fleece or pants and a t-shirt. I love the cold mornings and the 60 degree days. I love the colors. I could go on, but I’ll leave this list rather short.

So here’s a question for you:
when is your new year? and why ?

cheers

